It is okay to be a bit floopy …

Monica:Pheebs, do you have a plan?

Pheobe: I don’t even have a pla…

People talk about finding your inner purpose, as a key to living a fulfilled life. And it bothers me… because honestly, I have no clue what mine is. I have given a hundred things a try… the good thing with the world however is that there are always a hundred more. I sometimes feel a bit envious about characters like Howard Roark, so focused, so clear about what they want from life. But then again, if everyone had the same story, life would be fun.

Around 3 years ago… when I first came to this campus, I realized I probably wasn’t gonna end up designing circuits. In 1-2 (1st year 2nd semester,for the non-BITSian readers of this blog, if there are any :P) I started a bit of web designing. Okay calling it designing would be insulting designing, but I started tweeking around a bit with HTML, CSS and PHP a bit. I created my own site, zindagili8.co.cc (the domain has expired now, don’t bother), I created a site for the Indo-Brazil dialog happening in goa, and a list of other stuff. The point is , after the initial thrill I got bored. Over the next two years I tried my hands with coding(tried python, made a game of blackjack, tried another code, didn’t like debugging, moved on… psoc( yeah, I did that too, blinked a few led’s with a CY3121, joined the cypress club…did a few more tricks with leds… then the lectures stopped, and so did I), had a startup( BITSmart 😀 ,if you calling selling chips a startup, but there was  a demand for it, and in the 5 days we operated, until the authorities asked us to close down, we sold more packs of chips than Monginis, and probably even borkars.),a bit of coding again,this time in MATLAB(wrote a code for pellet size detection using IP for Essar steel,loved doing it, but not something I could do all my life ) and a bit of cartooning too( Yes, Practice school in Bhubaneshwar, does that to you). I could go on, but you get the point. The quest for a fine balance of happiness and stability continues. I only hope I find it sometime really soon.

The only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it. ~Steve Jobs.

The good thing about looking, and continuing in that pursuit, is that you keep learning more and more stuff. And that’s something I love. The bad thing is that you can’t get great at it, unless you settle(The 10000 hour rule). And that’s something I’ve gotta do. Just  waiting, looking for the right thing… hoping I’d run into it, or it’ll run into me.

In the mean time, I have decided to keep trying new stuff, finance and writing are the new favorites. So maybe I’ll give those a try. I have loved writing since I was a kid, haven’t been great at it, as you must have realized by now, but it makes me happy, and that’s all that matters. Although making the readers a bit happy too wouldn’t really hurt . Finance, because well, I love money, and handling it, and found a few courses both in college and coursera , quite awesome. So may be next year I give CFA or FRM a try and see how things work out.

Till then, I am trying not to worry about my state of floopiness (I can hear phoebe say, “Like that’s even a word”). Maybe that’s supposed to be our default state till we find that one special thing. In the mean time keeping working out, keeping reading new books, and trying new stuff— always be better than you were yesterday, so that when do you run into that thing, you’ll be ready

Well then. that’s it for now. Until next time, Stay hungry, stay floopy! 😀

 

3 thoughts on “It is okay to be a bit floopy …

  1. But for how long ???
    Till the end of the college we can be hungry and sloppy… but if we don’t find soon… reality will throw some or the other thing which we will have to do and love whether we like it or not 😛
    BTW even I stand on the same floppier grounds ryt now… tried from ckts… android… OS…. arduino… and much more… but not gr8 at any of them… I hope it comes before reality !

Leave a Reply

